Country to the City

I\’m just a country gal in a big city :)

Sick Babies April 12, 2006

Filed under: American Idol,General Life,Parenting — countryfan @ 12:12 am

Sometimes I wonder where I get the physical and mental strength from to deal with my life. Just when you think you’re getting into a nice regular routine, it gets flipped upside down and things just go mental.

Today Abby was sick. Sicker than a dog, my poor baby. I go into get her up this morning and she’s lying there on her back smiling at me holding a soft toy of hers. And she’s got these orange lumps in her hair 😦 At closer inspection, I discover that she was sick during the night and it’s all over her blanket and the sheets, and all over herself. So that meant bathtime πŸ˜› So I stripped her off her pj’s and took off her diaper and ran her a bath. I cleaned her up and shampooed her hair while she played with her various bath toys. Afterwards, I got her dressed and me thinking that she was allergic to the carrots I gave her for dinner the night before, I fed her breakfast. She seemed fine afterwards, playing with her toys and walking around with a big smile on her face. Then she started getting cranky, so I lay her down for a nap. What a mistake that was. Half an hour later, she starts crying and I go to her and she’s thrown up AGAIN. I call in J and he helps me. He strips her down and changes her diaper. I call the doctor and I discover that it’s probably a stomach bug (Me and J thinks she picked it up the last time we were at the doctor’s office- damn those toys 😦 ) She’s got it all in her hair again, so I half hang her over the bathtub so I can wash her hair again. Then after all that and she’s dressed again, J makes a grocery list and picks up some Pedialyte for her. All the time he’s gone, she’s crying her little lungs out at me and needs to go to sleep. She fights it all the time J is out because her belly is empty and she’s hungry. I can’t feed her anything though. Eventually, around 8pm, I lay her down for bed and she falls asleep straight away. She’s been waking up every two hours though, so I change her diaper and give her some more Pedialyte. It feels like she’s a baby again 😦

But apart from all that, everythings been pretty normal today. Watching American Idol (which really sucked tonight and I think the producers are trying to get rid of Ace 😦 ), making tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches for me and J, and trying to get rid of my usual headaches with Motrin. I tell ya, I’ve never had so many headaches in my life since Abby came along πŸ˜›

A quote I just found on a webpage:

“Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways – Chardonnay in one hand – chocolate in the other – body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming “WOO HOO, What a Ride”

 

Leave a Reply

